COVID-19: Schools, Colleges & Universities In These States To Remain Shut


Bhubaneswar: Several states and Union Territories have ordered shutting down schools in view of the massive surge in COIVID-19 second wave in the country. States like Odisha, West Bengal, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Rajasthan have closed down schools and colleges to contain the further spread of the virus.

Here is the complete list of states and the measures:


Odisha has suspended the offline classes for students of schools, colleges and varsities from April 19 till further notice.

West Bengal

West Bengal Government announced on Monday that the schools will remain closed from Tuesday, April 20. The government has also decided that summer vacation for government schools will commence on May 7.


The Director-General of Higher Education of the state announced on Friday, April 16 that all colleges and varsities in Haryana will remain shut till April 30. The Haryana government has also declared the closure of schools for students of Classes I to IX till April 30.

Uttar Pradesh

The Uttar Pradesh government declared on Thursday that all schools in the state will be shut till May 15.


Colleges in Gujarat were directed on Sunday to keep the doors closed till April 30, officials said. All government and private colleges have been asked to continue education through online mode instead of calling students to the campus.

Tamil Nadu

The Tamil Nadu government asked the higher education institutions to switch to an online mode of teaching and said semester exams will also be conducted in the virtual mode.

Himachal Pradesh

All educational institutions in Himachal Pradesh will be closed till April 21.


Rajasthan Government has imposed a 15-day lockdown in the state on Monday and ordered all educational institutions to down shutters from Monday, April 19 to May 3. All university exams have also been postponed in the state.

Jammu and Kashmir

The Jammu and Kashmir administration has directed the closure of all educational institutions, including colleges and universities, till May 15. However, the programmes that require students’ physical presence on account of laboratory, research, thesis work and internship will continue.


Chief Minister Nitish Kumar announced that the schools, colleges and other educational institutions in Bihar will remain shut till May 15. During this period, state-run schools and varsities will not conduct any exam.

ALSO READ: Mahatma Gandhi Central University To Promote Students Without Exams

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.