North Odisha University VC Kishore Kumar Basa Nominated As IIAS Shimla Member

Bhubaneswar: Vice-chancellor of North Odisha University (NOU) Prof Kishore Kumar Basa has been nominated as a member of the society that runs the Indian Institute of Advanced Study (IIAS), Shimla, for three years.

The appointment has been done in accordance with Rule 3 of the Rules and Regulations of IIAS, according to an official notification.

Prof Basa was earlier awarded the ‘Tagore National Fellowship’ by the Ministry of Culture.
Basa topped the matriculation examination in Odisha in 1973 and later did his PhD from London University. He completed his post-doctoral degree from Cambridge University. He was also Director of Indira Gandhi Rashtriya Manav Sangrahalaya in Bhopal, the Indian Museum in Kolkata and the Anthropological Survey of India.

The central government has nominated five other VCs – Nalanda University’s Prof Sunaina Singh; Sastra University’s Prof Vaidhyasubramanyam; Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishawavidyalaya’s Prof Rajneesh Kumar Shukla; Himachal Pradesh University’s Prof Sikandar Kumar; and Kaviguru Kalidas Sanskrit University’s Prof Shrinivasa Varkhedi – as members of the society.

The ex-officio institutional members include the secretaries of higher education and finance, UGC chairman, CSIR director-general, among others. Twenty other educationists and those eminent in the fields of art, culture and learning have also been nominated as members.

ALSO READ: This Is The New Name Of North Odisha University

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.