President Kovind To Confer National Award On 47 Teachers Via Virtual Ceremony On Teachers’ Day


New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind will confer the National Award to 47 teachers in a virtual ceremony from New Delhi on Saturday.

Union Minister of Education Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank and MoS for Education Sanjay Dhotre will also be present on the occasion.

National awards are bestowed on teachers on Teachers’ Day to acknowledge and honour the contribution of those who have improved the quality of school education and enriched the lives of their students through their commitment.

The guidelines for National Award to teachers were revised in 2018, making the process online, transparent and three-stage with inclusion of a national-level Jury.

Teachers were invited to self-nominate through the portal The first level of scrutiny was done by District Selection Committee (DSC), headed by the District Education Officer. DSC shortlisted 3 names which were forwarded to State Selection Committee through online portal.

Level 2 scrutiny was done by State Selection Committee (SSC), headed by Principal Secretary/Secretary of State Education Department. The SSC evaluated all nominations and recommended names of shortlisted candidates subject to the maximum number allotted to states/UTs and forwarded them to Independent National Jury through online portal.

The final selection for 2020 was done by Independent Jury at National level, headed by retired Secretary, Department of School Education & Literacy, MHRD. The Jury reviewed the list of candidates and carried out fresh assessment.

This year, the candidates appeared before the Jury through video conference and made presentations before the Jury, which selected 47 teachers.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.