UGC Approval For Madhusudan Law University In Odisha’s Cuttack

Bhubaneswar: Madhusudan Law University, Cuttack, has been included in the list of universities established as per Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956. The University will soon be able to receive Central assistance under Section 12(b) of the UGC Act.

Sharing this news on Twitter, Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan said the Centre is committed to transforming the higher education landscape in accordance with the vision of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and in line with the National Education Policy.

The eight-decade-old university is named after Utkal Gourab Madhusudan Das and is one of the best law colleges in the region, he added.

The Law University was established by the State government on April 28, 2021, under the Odisha Universities Act, 1989 (Odisha Act 5 of 1989).

The Odisha government had issued an official notification regarding the establishment of a new university called Madhusudan Law University at Cuttack by upgrading Madhusudan Law College, Cuttack, with effect from April 28 this year.

“All the existing government and private law colleges, except the constituent law colleges of different universities of the state, shall cease to be affiliated from their respective university from April 28 and shall stand affiliated to the Madhusudan Law University from that date,” said the state government order.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.