SAIMUN 2022: Over 720 Delegates From 6 Countries, Including 14 OAVS From Odisha, Attend Conference

Bhubaneswar: Over 720 delegates from six countries — Japan, UAE, Kenya, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan and India – attended the annual SAI Model United Nations (MUN) Conference on July 29 and 30.

The SAIMUN 2022 conference was hosted by SAI International in a hybrid format (offline and online).

Students from Shri Harsha Memorial, a SAI International-adopted school for deaf and mute, set the global forum alight with their bright smiles.

Participants from Odisha included 14 Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan (OAVS) schools from Balangir, Bargarh, Deogarh, Ganjam, Gajapati, Kalahandi, Kandmahal, Keonjhar, Koraput, Malkangiri, Mayurbhanj, Nabrangpur, Nuapada and Subarnapur districts.

There were many other schools from Bhubaneswar and Cuttack also participated in the SAIMUN 2022.

Foreign delegates came from — 15 Round Square School, Okinawa Amicus International and Kogakuin Senior High School of Kogakuin University (Japan); Starehe Boys Centre and School (Kenya); Indian High School (UAE); Cadet College Hasanabdal (Pakistan); New AL Warood School (Dubai).

Other Indian participants in SAIMUN 2022 were from — Modern School Barakhamba (New Delhi), Doon School (Dehradun), Singapore International School (Mumbai), Global Public School (Kochi), Delhi Public School Rohini (New Delhi), Scindia Kanya Vidyalaya (Gwalior), DAV Modern School (Chandigarh), KC Public School (Jammu), Sun Beam Varuna Varanasi, Sun Beam Lahartara Varanasi, LK Singhania Education Centre Gotan (Rajasthan), Yadavindra Public School (Patiala) and Step by Step (Noida).

The conference had 11 committees each for Classes IX-X and XI-XII, with interesting and stimulating agenda on global policies. The XI and XII committees included Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC), United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Special Political and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL), United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC), United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW) and United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

Committees for Classes IX and X included United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), United Nations Security Council (UNSC), International Labour Organization (ILO), World Health Organization (WHO), and Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee (SOCHUM).

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Comments are closed.